108. Sunday 1st November 2009. Survivor, rain, painting, Halloween and what not…

Thursday night I sat up until 11.30 pm watching the final episodes of Survivor. From the first episode in this series I expected Sugar would be one of the first three to be voted out of the game. However from the moment she set foot on Exile Island I gained a new respect for her and expected she would be in the final three and possibly win the $1,000,000. Hmmm. One out of two correct is not bad.

As anyone who knows me well (Hmmm. That’s probably Donnis) will tell you. I ride my Yamaha Virago to work and always wear a jacket, usually the one with armour padding. It can also have a warm inner lining zipped in and a waterproof liner for when it rains. I also wear strong gloves with the armour padding on knuckle joints. Of course I always wear a helmet. After overnight rain, Thursday morning dawned clear and bright. I decided to ride the Yammy to work but because it was soooo nice I left the jacket and gloves at home. That was a mistake. Just after 5pm as I was packing up at the office, the rain came down. I got soaked going home. At least my head was dry under the helmet and weird as it seems I did not get wet around the waist area. Every other bit of clothing was dripping wet and a chill wind had sprung up. Straight into the laundry when I got home and stripped off except for the boxer shorts which somehow were still dry!

Friday morning as I left for my early morning walk I noticed the brown grass was no longer brown. There were patches of green. That’s good but bad. Once the grass starts to grow I will have to cut it….Often!

Friday night Donnis said a Nursing Home staff party was being held at the Proserpine RSL and we really ought to go. We did. Only had one drink. Then off to the Metropole Hotel for dinner. I ordered Fettuccini Carbonara while Donnis ordered crumbed steak. Uh Oh. I am sure she does not know what crumbed steak is but it would not hurt for her to learn. The food arrived and the look of dismay on her face was sad. “It’s deep-fried” she whispered. Yeah, that’s what crumbed steak is all about. Being the gallant and chivalrous person I am, I offered her the fettuccini. In a flash she had the plates switched and I got the deep fried guk. Some people eat this crap regularly and reckon its good tucker. Listening to the conversations at the table they equate food which spills over the plate as being good value. Oh well to each their own.

It rained off and on Friday night and I swear I woke every hour.

Saturday morning dawned cold, windy n wet. Yep. Cold. I needed a little blanket to keep me warm while seated at the computer. I probably could have closed the window and kept the cold breeze out.

A couple of years ago when I had the broken ankle and the prostatitis ops I spent a lot of time in the office on the computer. I enjoyed sitting in the office with my open window looking out onto the sunny garden and the wall of greenery outside.

This is our view looking out the office window.

Wall of Green outside the office window.

Saturday morning at 5.30 am I was sitting looking outside in the dim light and noticed drops of water on some of the plants. Hmmm! The garden is just as attractive in the wet so I took a few photos of what I have to put up with. LOL.

This Elk Horn was a Christmas gift from my daughter Melissa about 10 years ago. It is quite happy in the mottled light and hanging in the tree.

Elk Horn. Daughter Melissa gave this to me as a Christmas gift about 10 years ago. It thrives in the mottled sunlight where it is hanging in the tree. The hook has pulled out of the hardwood block twice and fallen to the ground but the plant still lives.

Of course a few raindrops hanging from leaves looks attractive, sooo…

Is this an Agave?

Is this an Agave? Any horticulturists reading this might like to comment.

And another…

Mini Papyrus in our water fountain.

Mini Papyrus in our water fountain.

and finally…

elephant ear plant

Elephant Ear plant – variegated. This was one of my Fathers plants. He kept it in a small pot on a outdoor table near the front door of his unit. After his death I asked the family if I could keep the plant and repotted it to a larger pot. During the year it dies off but come Summertime it will crowd the pot it lives in.

Donnis worked Saturday and Sunday so I continued to paint. I am on the home run now with only the trim to do. In fact as I write this all the trim at the front of the house, including the carport has two coats and I am finished the front. Yeehah! Now all the rear deck, steps and laundry to be completed. Maybe if Donnis has a day off work during the week she can finish some of it.

Spoke with Shelley on the phone last night. Dwyanne has taken Reese, Georgia and Jack, Trick or Treating. It is Halloween and the kids have been asking to go all week. Dwyanne has said “NO! Its an American custom and we are Australian” I guess three little kids not understanding customs putting pressure on him made him relent. He is correct though. It is an USA & Canada thing and something as an Aussie kid I never knew anything about Halloween. My kids never experienced it either until we moved to Mackay in 1987 when we got Trick or Treated and had nothing to give but fruit. When I went for my walk this morning I noticed jellies – you know, snakes and such – on the roadway. I guess loose jellies are not hygienic and got tossed out by the kids or their minders.

Shelley is due for child number 4 on 11/11/09. She has asked if she has not delivered by then can she have it induced as she is really feeling quite uncomfortable. They already have a name, Matthew, shortened to Matt already and Georgia refers to Matt in her conversation.

tienen una entrega rápida y segura Shelley.

http://tts.imtranslator.net/6RPQ

Tags: , , ,

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

