288. Doors…

In our travels we have often stopped to admire and or comment on doors we see. Often we even stopped to take photos. Regretably most of the time we never had a camera handy. Although my Panasonic Lumix FZ50 is an ideal camera to obtain good quality digital photos it is a bit big to lug around everywhere. We now have the great compact Sony CyberShot HD which is easy to carry around in a pocket but like the mobile phone, we forget to keep it with us all the time. As well, keeping a camera, a mobile phone and a wallet in a pocket is a bit cumbersome. I also like to carry the iPod with Kindle readerinstalled so I can whip it out and read a book whenever I have a few minutes spare. For that reason I carry what I call a “man bag” and all these little gadgets can be carried with me along with other odds and ends I think I might need. But…I digress, this is about doors. Big doors, little doors, narrow, wide, timber steel, glass, old doors new doors. So, come on through the door and have a look at some of the doors we did photograph. Remember all these photos can be viewed full size by double clicking on them.

Knock Knock.

Come in.

Side door of the garage of the house we are currently housesitting.

Side door of the garage of the house we are currently housesitting.

During 2011 when I was conducting the Census at Eungella, near Mackay, Queensland I got to knock on many doors. Eungella is a sort of laid back community, a bit isolated, up in the clouds and many people hide from the world. A little like Nimbin on the NSW north coast (which we have yet to visit) The house below just begged to be photographed as I had so much trouble finding it in the first place as it was built into and overgrown by the jungle.

This house was almost completely overgrown by the rainforest but was still habited by an old couple and their middle aged son.

This house was almost completely overgrown by the rainforest but was still habited by an old couple and their middle aged son.

When I was house sitting at Traveston Sunshine Coast Hinterland Qld, I would drive to Noosa Beach almost every day. I had to drive through the little village of Cooran every day. This little massage hut always caught my eye.

Cool massage hut and door at Cooran, Sunshine Coast Hinterland Queensland.

Cool massage hut and door at Cooran, Sunshine Coast Hinterland Queensland.

A few weeks ago I drove to Ebor to visit the waterfalls which are part of the Waterwall Way series of waterfalls from near Armidale all the way down to the coast near Bellingen. I had a walk around town and this old house with the aged, worn, weathered door was an ideal subject for me.

Weathered, aged and personality door on an equally aged and weathered private house in Ebor New England district of northern New South Wales.

Weathered, aged and personality door on an equally aged and weathered private house in Ebor New England district of northern New South Wales.

When I stayed at Coolamon for a few nights during October this year many of the old houses were ideal for photographs. Regretably (that word will keep cropping up) the weather was cold, windy and wet and the urge to get out and about was suppressed. This old bank doorway was one which did get photographed. Perhaps in the future I should just rug up and get out there and photograph regardless of weather and time constraints.

Bank doorway in Coolamon NSW> Now used as a Building Society office.

Bank doorway in Coolamon NSW. Now used as a Building Society office.

December 2011 we were fortunate to have Lional and Maryanne drive us around the coast near Camden Haven then take us up into the mountains and the small villages in the hinterland near Wauchope which once had a thriving timber cutting and sawmilling industry. We had coffee and cake at this quaint bakery. If only we could stop at all the bakery/coffee shops we find.

In the hinterland near Wauchope NSW was the doorway to a local bakery and coffee shop at Comboyne.

In the hinterland near Wauchope NSW was the doorway to a local bakery and coffee shop at Comboyne.

By now regular readers will have noticed that in my travels around NSW I have sought out the old Commercial Bank of Australia Limited and Commercial Banking Company of Sydney Limited branches. I worked at the CBA for 11 years after leaving school. I had a love/hate relationship with bank but ovcerall it gave me a good financial platform to build on and many of the people still  still out cleary in my mind. Even the grumpy old men I often encountered.  I have sought out the CBC branches as my good friend for more than 45 years, Tony J worked at the CBC. Both banks no longer exist and both had over 100 years of history before the CBA was merged with Westpac and the CBC was merged with NAB.

Door to the original Commercial Bank of Australia Limited at Inverell NSW.

Door to the original Commercial Bank of Australia Limited at Inverell NSW.

This is a great example of the type of architecture and workmanship employed by banks 100 years ago. Especially those branches in a gold mining area. This is the CBC branch at Braidwood NSW.

Original Commercial Banking Company of Sydney at Braidwood which also contained the managers residence.

Original Commercial Banking Company of Sydney at Braidwood which also contained the managers residence.

These old timber doors and the door within a door could tell many tales of the inmates of the Old Berrima Gaol in NSW not far from Sydney. While taking this photo a big burly man stepped out of the inner door and shouted “no photography here”. Sheesh it is no longer is a place of incarceration . There should be nothing to hide. I also photographed many photos from the street using zoom.

gateway with a door built into it at the Old Berrima Gaol NSW.

gateway with a door built into it at the Old Berrima Gaol NSW.

Finally, I found the original CBA branch at Armidale and the managers residence and yard has been turned into a number of boutique shops with access via the grilled doorway.

Gateway to hairdressers on the premises of the old Commercial Bank of Australia Limited premises at Armidale NSW.

Gateway to hairdressers on the premises of the old Commercial Bank of Australia Limited premises at Armidale NSW.

I sure hope you enjoyed looking at DOORS and promise more to come in the New Year.

A few comments with words of encouragement will be appreciated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

