374.Sunday 25th May 2014. Franks Food Safari and Dingos on the beach…

Today – meaning Saturday 24th May – I was awake at the usual ungodly hour of 6am. Somehow I can never sleep in. Well, sometimes I can. At least until 6.30 and occasionally to 6.45am.
On my morning walk which this morning was just as the sun was whispering over the ocean and beginning to slink across the land in readiness to kiss the Conway Range, I saw the remnants of last night’s cloud and mist at one end of my road.

The misty wispy foggy cloud moving up and over the Conway Range. Looking south along our road which ends at the base of that mountain range.

The misty wispy foggy cloud moving up and over the Conway Range. Looking south along our road which ends at the base of that mountain range.

It was scurrying to climb over the Conway Range before Sol arrived with that kiss. It was that period of half- light where some things take on a mystical half formed appearance before the light of day turns everything ino sharp tones of light and shadow. At the opposite end of my road a giant cruise liner, the second this week, was moored and appeared as a dark shadow in the morning light. It was the ship THE WORLD  http://aboardtheworld.com/our_story which is the largest, at 644 feet, privately owned ship in the world

Hmmm! It was a bit of a surprise to find it there at the end of our road this morning as it is not on any of the published schedules that I am aware of.

Looking north along our road on the way to Airlie Beach. The big cruise ship "PACIFIC DAWN"

Looking north along our road on the way to Airlie Beach. The big cruise ship “THE$ WORLD”

“PACIFIC DAWN” a passenger cruise ship is due to call into Airlie on Monday.

After breakfast I made a batch of those wonderful fluffy Lemonade Scones and by coffee time they were still warm, wrapped in a tea towel and ready to be lathered with butter, Berry jam and whipped cream. In the time between baking and stopping for coffee I pushed myself physically ragged trying to dig up tree roots which are invading our yard. After coffee I started again and also found time to chainsaw an overhanging branch which would be in the direct pathway of WWWGO next time we leave. No sense leaving a branch to scratch along the side of WWWGO or worse scrape along the roof and tear the waterproof membrane. By the time that was all finished I was wringing wet and shaking with exertion with my clothes drenched in sweat and dirt. About this time something bit me on the buttock (I kid you not) in a place which I cannot see no matter how many mirrors I use. It is painful to sit but being a man and practising the “suck it up” mantra will wait a day or two before I do anything.
Besides it is Saturday afternoon and all the doctors are sensible and having a weekend off.
No sleep in this morning. I woke at 5am and although I stayed in bed I tossed and turned until 6am when it was just light enough to find my clothes. After my walk and exercise routine I made an omelette for breakfast. The buttock is a little uncomfortable this morning but not stopping me from enjoying my day. I am sure I wrote about making an omelette way back in 2011 but it is no harm to mention it again. I love an omelette and on this occasion will share the recipe.

Fluffy Omelette
Two good size eggs (I only buy the biggest eggs although the CO-PILOT prefers what is on special provided they are free range)
Two or three tablespoons of water, your choice.
1 rasher of bacon, chopped
A couple of egg size mushrooms also chopped
I few splashes of sesame oil
1 teaspoon of any type of pesto (or herbs of your choice)
4 thin slices of tomato
4 thin slices of Spanish onions (oh all right then any onions of your choices but make em thinly sliced)
An equivalent amount of thinly sliced capsicum (Red or green or yellow – doesn’t matter)
¼ cup finely grated parmesan cheese.
¼ cup sliced black olives.
Anything else you might want to throw in – leftover veggies from a previous meal)
While the bacon and mushrooms are cooking in a separate heavy based pan I whip the eggs, then add the water, the oil and the pesto and whip until the mix gets frothy.
Heat a heavy based non- stick frypan. I do not use oil as the oil from the bacon and mushrooms will be enough. Transfer the bacon n mushrooms to the non- stick and reduce the heat to about a quarter ( we use a gas stove) spread the bacon etc around the pan so it coats the base but also spread the mix evenly.
Give the eggs another quick whip and add them to the pan ensuring they spread all the way over and around the bacon etc. Add the tomatoes onion capsicum and olives any way you like. Grate the cheese over the top and reduce the heat again. As the eggs begin to set the edge will start to lift away from the pan slightly. At this stage I transfer the whole pan under the grill and leave it until the cheese begins to brown. The omelette will swell at this stage so I slide an egg flip all around the edges and it just slides off, whole, onto a plate. In my opinion the pesto adds enough salt. If you just use herbs then maybe a bit of cracked pepper and salt in the egg when you are whisking it.
Have fun!
Chef Frank

My Omelette. Pity I did not put it squarely on the plate.

My Omelette. Pity I did not put it squarely on the plate.

Sunday, being the last day of the week I have set aside as a rest day.
In the morning it was anything but restful as I started to run the branches and tree roots through the shredder. By mid- morning I had had enough and I am sure the neighbours wanted some quiet as well.
I then drove about 45 Klms along the coast to Dingo Beach.

Looking to sea at Dingo Beach

Looking through the Casuarina’s  to sea at Dingo Beach

( http://www.dingobeach.com.au/ ) Dingo is near Hideaway Bay where Donnis and I visited for lunch several weeks ago. The Dingo Pub

 The Dingo Pub at Dingo Beach

The Dingo Pub at Dingo Beach

( http://dingobeachhotel.com.au/ ) has a live musician on Sundays and it is a local watering hole and meeting place. The dining area is mostly outdoors under the shelter of shade cloth and big umbrellas. The tables and chairs are solid lumps of hardwood and you need to be fit just to pull a chair out to sit on it. The ground is bare, levelled, decomposed granite. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decomposed_granite ) DG is popular and plentiful all the way from Mackay to Bowen.

The elite umm err quarter star dining area at the Dingo. It is the ntop dining experience in town. Umm err it is the only dining experience in town. It is a pub, accommodation, general store, video rental, post office and petrol station. There is not another store in town.

The elite umm err quarter star dining area at the Dingo. It is the ntop dining experience in town. Umm err it is the only dining experience in town. It is a pub, accommodation, general store, video rental, post office and petrol station. There is not another store in town.

Originally Dingo Beach was a bit of a remote location populated by cane farmers weekend retreats. Then it became popular with other fishermen who built similar weekend retreats. This was a place where serious fishermen and crabbers spent their weekends. Now there is a permanent population of serious fisherman but they have built really serious upmarket houses all trying to jockey into position for a spectacular view of the ocean.
As is usual along this stretch of coastline, there is no surf and the tides can be as much as 6m. Step out six long strides of roughly a metre and you will see what I mean. That’s a big variation in tide. I arrived at mid tide as the water was receding. At extreme low tide you can walk almost a Klm to sea walking on at worst, wet sand.
I had a Fishermans Basket for lunch and is usual with pub food it was frozen fare deep fried with a few chips and an excuse for a salad. $20 please!
Donnis and I spent many winter afternoons here at Dingo. We would take a picnic hamper with crackers, cheese, dips and pate’ along with a couple of chilled beers oraboleofchampagneand sit on the beach under the shade of the whispering Casuarina trees – also known as She Oaks –  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casuarina ) and as often as not fall asleep and drive home late in the afternoon.

Lovely place to park, under the Casuarina's beside the beach at Dingo.

Lovely place to park, under the Casuarina’s beside the beach at Dingo.

Today was one of those wonderful sunny clear autumn days which if Donnis was home we would have had our picnic under the casuarina’s.
I am looking forward to her safe return mid June.

This poor little Gecko was stuck under a milk crate filled with LP records. (Anybody want to buy some collectors items?) I have no idea how long he was stuck under the crate, probably around three weeks. You can see the crease across his back. Poor little guy probably has a broken back. He is still there tonight. I feel bad.

This poor little Gecko was stuck under a milk crate filled with LP records. (Anybody want to buy some collectors items?) I have no idea how long he was stuck under the crate, probably around three weeks. You can see the crease across his back. Poor little guy probably has a broken back. He is still there tonight. I feel bad.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

