388. Sunday 31st August 2014. Visitors and the countdown continues…

Monday 25th August

I guess the tension of these final weeks is beginning to catch up with me.

This afternoon I after work Donnis and I went first to the solicitors to sign some final transfer papers then we went to the Tax Agent to finish our tax. It was then the agent asked for the original settlement documents from when we bought the house in Mackay. We have to pay capital gains tax and every deduction we can find will help reduce the tax payable.

Gulp!

That settlement statement is more than 7 years old. Eleven years to be exact. I threw those papers out a month ago not realising I would need them. Every file and document older than 2007 I threw out.

Tuesday 26th August

This afternoon I arrived home about 3pm and basically from then on was on the phone until about 7.30pm.

First there was the removalist and after negotiating back and forward got a reduction in fee and settled on them to pick up our furniture on 11th September.

Then I called solicitors who I thought may have acted for us in 2003. No such luck. I also called the bank where got our loan and luckily they still have our loan application with all their fees shown and put us in touch with their solicitor who agreed to calculate fees and stamp duty associated with the purchase.

I spoke with the manager of the resort we are moving to and he set my mind at ease on a couple of points and agreed to allow us to park WWWGO in their caravan park for up to a week, no charge while we get settled.

Then I spoke with our financial adviser where I had asked him to organize a simple transfer of funds. We got bogged down with many questions which at the time I could not understand his reasons. A few more calls and several emails later I understood what he was doing. He was trying to do a complete new financial plan….Which is not what I want.

Whew! At least our visitors, Tony and Dawn are understanding and managed to do a few jobs I wanted done.

Thursday 28th August

Today started out as a normal workday but a @#%*ing inconsiderate driver ran into my car in the shopping centre. The driver, very considerately, did not leave a note to say sorry, no records of their name or address. They just slunk off as if nothing happened. I did not discover the damage until Donnis, Tony and Dawn were in the shopping centre, noticed my car and the damage. Donnis took the car to the panel beater to obtain a quote and set up a date for the work to be done. It is set for 8th September – the same day the settlement of the villa occurs – and they need RALLYE for three days – the day before we are due to leave. The timing and cost could not be worse.

Grrr!

In the meantime I lodged a claim with my Insurers.

Friday 29th August

After a busy morning for the four of us we took a drive to Cedar Creek Falls.

Cedar Creek Falls. It seems alien to me that council has to erect signs all over this area warning people not to dive or jump off the top of the falls as rocks below the surface could cause injury or death. Young people still ignore the warnings despite several deaths in the last decade. At times like this, the annual dry season, it is easy to see some of the rocks which were below the surface...but we still cannot see the rest of the rocks just below the water.

Cedar Creek Falls. It seems alien to me that council has to erect signs all over this area warning people not to dive or jump off the top of the falls as rocks below the surface could cause injury or death. Young people still ignore the warnings despite several deaths in the last decade. At times like this, the annual dry season, it is easy to see some of the rocks which were below the surface…but we still cannot see the rest of the rocks just below the water.

As expected, at this time of year (the dry season) the falls were umm err, dry.

Dawn Donnis and Tony on the edge of the pool below Cedar Creek Falls.

Dawn Donnis and Tony on the edge of the pool below Cedar Creek Falls.

Still it is a lovely spot to visit and just absorb the tranquility without the crowds.

Cedar Creek splits in two just above the falls. Although the falls are dry, this side creek is still running...just.

Cedar Creek splits in two just above the falls. Although the falls are dry, this side creek is still running…just.

More the the Cedar Creek split.

More the the Cedar Creek split.

Then we drove to the new multi million dollar launching ramp into the Proserpine River.

These men absolutely refuised to allow any part of their bodies to be in the water. For good reason. The river is full of hungry crocodile. This million dollar boat launching facility has only re-opened this year.

These men absolutely refuised to allow any part of their bodies to be in the water. For good reason. The river is full of hungry crocodile. This million dollar boat launching facility has only re-opened this year.

You would not expect such an expensive boat launching facility in the middle of nowhere but one look at the car park shows just how many people would use the ramp. While looking at the river a tinny arrived with three men aboard. They made such a fuss about pulling into the floating pontoon and being so careful when alighting from the boat. The explanation was simple. They had just spent six hours on the river and although they never caught a fish they had many experiences with crocodiles. According to their report the river is full of them. Most of the crocs were bigger than their boat. No wonder they were so nervous about not allowing any part of their body into the water.

Proserpine River looking north.

Proserpine River looking north.

Saturday 30th August

Tony and Dawn left this morning after a ten day visit. Thanks for coming to visit with us we had a great time just having your company and help with those odd jobs around the house.

Donnis and I managed to put down a bed of 20mm granite along one side of the house and finish off a few other jobs started yesterday. I am beginning to feel anxious about not being ready on time for our big move.

Sigh!!!

Sunday 31st August

Daughter Averyl, hubby Paul and their children Shelby-Rose and Anakin came to visit for a few hours. I gave them some items which will be surplus to my needs. A lawn mower and some power tools. Averyl also ended up with my entire, record, tape and CD collections and a digital turntable.

Frank Averyl & Shelby Rose.

Frank Averyl & Shelby Rose.

Averyl and Shelby-Rose

Averyl and Shelby-Rose

Anakin. Averyl & Paul commented they call Anakin little Frank as he looks and acts like me. That can only be a good thing. Do you agree? Donnis found an old photo of me when I was umm err much younger. I was on a beach and carrying a surfboard. Looking at the photo and holding it beside Anakin I have to agree he does look like me.

Anakin. Averyl & Paul commented they call Anakin little Frank as he looks and acts like me. That can only be a good thing. Do you agree?
Donnis found an old photo of me when I was umm err much younger. I was on a beach and carrying a surfboard. Looking at the photo and holding it beside Anakin I have to agree he does look like me.

After lunch they headed back to Mackay.

Sitting here, at the end of the week and my few minutes of reflection it occurred to me I have four more days of work before I retire for the second time. Last time in 2010 I was apprehensive, not knowing what the future held without a regular income and the structure of a work routine and regular social interaction. This time there is less apprehensive but I am still wondering about a future without a regular income and you can keep the work routine and social interaction.

I am also wondering if we can get everything packed ready to go when the removalist arrives. I know we will be ready but in the meantime I will worry until we are safely tucked up in our new villa on the Gold Coast sometime in the second week of September.

Stay tuned.

Tags: , ,

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

