404. Church of the Wandering Photographer…

Can you believe the last time I displayed a bunch of church photos was way back at post number 326 on 25th March 2013. It’s time for an up date.

St Andrews Uniting Brisbane Qld.

St Andrews Uniting Brisbane Qld.

This Church was built in 1904 to replace what was known as the Wickham Terrace Church further up the hill. The Wickham Terrace Church built in a Gothic style in 1887 had to be torn down to make way for a new railway

St.Bedes Catholic Braidwood. NSW.

St.Bedes Catholic Braidwood. NSW.

The foundation stone for this church was laid in 1858. In the photo above the church and surrounding grounds appears …cold. Well on the day this photo was taken it was a bitterly cold day in the middle of Winter August 2012. Snow had fallen the week before and a cold sleet was falling and a bitter wind was blowing. The only other time we visited Braidwood we did not stop.

Hmmm! I wonder why?

St. Johns Anglican Forbes NSW

St. Johns Anglican Forbes NSW

The first St Johns in Forbes was a timber structure built in 1861.This Gothic style building was erected between 1874 and 1877.

St. Mary's Parish Church Echuca NSW.

St. Mary’s Parish Church Echuca Vic.

This Gothic style church at Echuca was built sometime in the 1870’s to 1880’s but I can find no reliable information about who and when it was built.

St.Patricks Catholic Culcairn

St.Patricks Catholic Culcairn

St.Patricks Catholic Church at Culcairn NSW is built in a modern style clearly wanting to make a statement and stand out amongst the other more traditional churches in town.

St.,Peters Anglican Armidale.

St.,Peters Anglican Armidale.

This church built from Armidale Blue bricks had the foundation stone laid in 1873, opened for worship in 1875 and consecrated in 1886. This building replaced the original timber structure which was built in 1850. Armidale City Council has free tours of this church and other places of interest around Armidale. They provide a free bus and morning tea in the tour. It is well worth taking the tour.

Anglican Guyra NSW

Anglican Guyra NSW

I believe this is the Anglican Church at Guyra. At the time of my visit the church was being closed and I am unable to find any useful information on the internet. I am sure an astute reader will contact me to bring details up to date.

Catholic Church Gunning NSW

Uniting Church Gunning NSW built 1876

This is another church which I am unsure about the denomination or even if the name and or location  are correct. Guided by the date of the original photo and my diary entry, the photo was taken in Gunning NSW. Once again I am sure a local historian or other interested person in Gunning may be able to provide useful information.

UPDATE 21/4/2015. I am indebted to, presumably a local, Leslie Bush, for providing correct information on this church. As per my comments above I had hoped a local historian would correct my information if indeed I was incorrect. In my original post I commented I was not sure of the denomination etc were correct. I had called this the Catholic Church. Here are Leslie’s comments, in full.

Hi

Just like to mention that the Church you have pictured for Gunning is not the Catholic Church but the Uniting Church on the Cnr of Warrataw and Biala Streets at Gunning, built in 1876.

The Catholic Church is called St. Francis Xaviers Catholic Church and is located in Cullerin Street. The present building was built in 1973 on the grounds of the original Church. The Presbytery (where the Father resided) is right behind the Church and was built in 1888. Across the road from the modern day Church is the Neo-Gothic designed Catholic Schoolhouse which is now a private residence and next door to the Church is the Old Convent, also now a private residence.”

Thanks Leslie.

 

Catholic Church Collarenebri NSW

Catholic Church Collarenebri NSW

This is another church for which I can find no historical information. Obviously it is a neo modern design and construction. Historians please note.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “404. Church of the Wandering Photographer…”

  1. Leslie Bush Says:

    Hi

    Just like to mention that the Church you have pictured for Gunning is not the Catholic Church but the Uniting Church on the Cnr of Warrataw and Biala Streets at Gunning, built in 1876.

    The Catholic Church is called St. Francis Xaviers Catholic Church and is located in Cullerin Street. The present building was built in 1973 on the grounds of the original Church. The Presbytery (where the Father resided) is right behind the Church and was built in 1888. Across the road from the modern day Church is the Neo-Gothic designed Catholic Schoolhouse which is now a private residence and next door to the Church is the Old Convent, also now a private residence.

    Cheers

    Like

    • frankeeg Says:

      Thanks for reading the blog Leslie and particularly for your comment. Now I have a longish reply so get yourself a cup of coffee. Over the past XXX years I have photographed XXX churches in four states plus Vancouver Island and Norfolk Island. Many of those photos have not yet been published. Of all the photos, published and unpublished I have data of what, where and any other pertinent information, the only town where my records were incomplete was …Gunning. I could not find my notes to marry to the photos! (now there is another story – two months ago I basically re-installed my laptop operating system. Recently I found many of my photos from 2010 and 2011 were missing. I was able to troll back through backup and additional copies on external hard drives and was able to fully restore 2010 and all but 4 weeks of photos for 2011. Perhaps my notes from that time were lost or corrupted as well) Even as I published the photo I still was not feeling 100% comfortable the church was correctly named. Even looking at Google Maps I could not confirm the name and denomination of the church. So… I thank you for setting the record straight. I will now amend my photo history and I assume I will have your permission to use the information you gave as part of the amended publication. Sometimes the information I give is questioned and corrected by locals and I thank you for your taking the time to comment. I trust you will read the entire blog as well.. Cheers

      Like

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

