429. Sunday 17th May 2015. The end of our cruise at Seattle USA…

Sunday 17th May
Woke early.

Not feeling 100%. Although I am rugged against the cold I can feel the cold through to my bones.
Hmmm!
No land in sight.

Gradually as the early morning lightens a little we are entering Seattle harbour. I can see the Washington State Ferries scuttling across the harbour with people and cars going about their Sunday activities.

In the dim overcast early morning light I can see many of these Washington State Ferries with cheerful lights moving about the harbour.

In the dim overcast early morning light I can see many of these Washington State Ferries with cheerful lights moving about the harbour.

The city is waking from sleep.

Another cruise ship, the Ruby Princess which reportedly carries 6,000 passengers is heading towards the cruise terminal the same time as us.

The giant cruise ship, RUBY PRINCESS racing us to a berth in Seattle.

The giant cruise ship, RUBY PRINCESS racing us to a berth in Seattle.

At 7.30 am passengers with just carry off bags were due to leave the ship. That did not happen as it took another two hours for the ship to be cleared. The original disembarkation plan was for carry on luggage passengers to leave first followed by passengers in a colour coded time sequence. Due to the delay, that plan was abandoned and all passengers disembarked in a disorderly mob. Us included.

Seattle Skyline.

Seattle Skyline.

Seattle Skyline.

Seattle Skyline.

Seattle skyline.

Seattle skyline.

The last few days aboard ship we were asked to wash our hands more often and instead of collecting our own food it was passed to us by serving staff. Even things like tomato sauce and mustard and pepper and salt shakers were removed from the tables. It seems there has been an outbreak of Norovirus which is a severe GI infection. We had noticed the crew cleaning tables, railings, walls and even floor more assiduously and more often. Up to 40 passengers have been taken off the ship by ambulance in several ports.
Belatedly the ship was cleared and we started the process of the feared US customs. The reason for the delay was never explained although a good guess would be the number of infected people on the ship.

Apart from handing in our entry declaration, which they never even looked at, they did not even ask to look at our passports, we suddenly found ourselves on the streets of Seattle and looking for a cab to take us to a ferry terminal. This is my first visit to the United States – apart from Alaska – and I had expected more security on arrival.

Two other ships arrived at roughly the same time as us, so thousands of people were looking for transport at the same time. The line for a taxi was almost a block long and we decided to walk from pier 66 to pier 52 when a taxi pulled up to drop off passengers. Donnis quickly jumped in and asked the driver to take us to pier 52. It sure beats walking and we arrived with enough time to catch our ferry. The ticket office was happy to give me a seniors discount, unlike staff at BC Ferries in Canada who will only give a discount to BC Seniors who hold a discount card.

PEARL at Seattle.

PEARL at Seattle.

We caught Washington State Ferry to Bremerton where Doug, Linda and Alecia collected us and took us to Jessica and Johns house at Poulsbo. After lunch I fell asleep on the lounge. They left me asleep and everybody went to a Viking Festival in the port of Poulsbo.
Belatedly I noticed my throat feels dry and I feel cold…even though it is cold and I am rugged in warm layers. I have a dry persistent cough.
Hmmm!

I hope I am just tired and it is nothing more serious.

So ends our 10 day cruise to Alaska on the Norwegian Cruise Lines ship THE PEARL.

Tomorrow begins the next stage of our travels within the USA and Canada.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “429. Sunday 17th May 2015. The end of our cruise at Seattle USA…”

  1. placestheygo Says:

    Glad you arrived safely. Hope you are feeling better real soon:)

    Like

    • frankeeg Says:

      Thanks Pam,yes sore throat got steadily worse and spread to my lungs. Lots of coughing but I think I have turned the corner. I just have to keep warm. Cheers

      Like

  2. Erica Says:

    Thanks for mentioning my website Frank , very thoughtful 🙂 Glad to hear I was not the only one that thought it odd that Canada could have cared less about seeing our passports, yet the people on the train very adamant about viewing them. I too thought it was strange that getting off the boat was super easy. In fact I think it was harder to get on the ship LOL. Sorry to hear you got sick Frank, glad you are on the mend. 40 passenger you say? I had no idea it was that bad, glad we did not get sick either.

    Like

    • frankeeg Says:

      Hi Erica, we hve been so busy travelling and not having Internet connection has meant not being able to look at interesting sites…such as yours. Not having a full laptop or PC has hindered me with photo editing and posting to the blog. We have managed to borrow a laptop on a couple of occasions to keep up to date. We are currently in Lake Louise in Canada and may stay another night. We have talked about scooting on down to the USA for three or days and visit Yellowstone.

      Like

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

