468. Sunday 29th November 2015. Another quiet week on the Gold Coast…

Monday 23rd November

We still have heatwave conditions in Queensland. It is reasonably cool inside the house with breezes coming in from the creek. A walk along the beach on The Broadwater was delightful this morning. The tide was very high, forcing us to walk on grass in the dunes. As always, it seems, I forgot to bring the camera.

Tuesday 24th November

Although my sisters, Enid and Sandi would tell me the following is common and there is no embarrassment involved, I did feel embarrased. Due to the continuing pain associated, not with the surgery to my wrist (it is healed and as strong as the original) it is due to continuing pain associated with injury to my Ulna nerve in the original fall. My doctor had made an appointment for me to see a Clinical Psychologist. That appointment was today. Although the pain has reduced considerably over the last few weeks I decided I should keep the appointment…I might learn something.  So I sat down and talked about things which happened in my life. At the end of the hour he suggested he would not make another appointment as he feels I am handling, not just the pain issues but other issues which life throws at me. In a way I was slightly disappointed. Just slightly mind you. He did say he would leave the door open should I need his help in the future.

Wednesday 25th November

Attended the Skin Clinic this morning to have the three stitches removed. The doc commented that I am clear of cancer…at least as far as the lump he removed last week. I know that having a misspent youth, lounging in the sun, surfing and allowing salt to dry on my skin there is every chance another cancer will emerge somewhere.

Thursday 26th November

Donnis had a Podiatrist appointment today. Although it was on the other side of Brisbane the timing fit in with our plans to see grandson Chris at his school nativity concert in the evening. Chris was a wise Maggi in the chorus.

Prior to the concert we visited Peter, Chris is his son then drove to collect Chris, his mother Regelyn and his other grandmother, Angelique and take them to the concert. I am still trying to understand why we drove out of our way to do that, especially as Regelyn had a perfectly serviceable car in her garage.

After we drove the family home Donnis and I went to a nearby Thai Restaurant for dinner. I would have preferred to eat something at home.

Sigh!

Friday 27th November

Today was hot with a strong wind. We organised to visit The Spit with Glenda and her mum and have another picnic under the shade of Casurina’s . After a filling lunch Donnis and Glenda went for a walk while I laid back in our recliner chair. I fell asleep, waking to find a storm front had rolled in while Glenda and Dee had decamped while Donnis had packed everything and was waiting on me.

Sigh!

Saturday 28th November

For some time I have been trying to track down my old schoolmate George C. I have not heard from him in over a year. George and I spoke regularly by Skype and telephone and we had visited him in Bulladelah NSW where he was working as a baker. We had to pass through his town as we were travelling south on 2nd December 2011. I became concerned as I had not spoken with him for more than a year and felt guilty I had not thought of him since our move back to our house in Airlie Beach and packing up to move to the Gold Coast, our trip to Canada and my injury and surgery. I did not know his address in Bulladelah but knew he had last spoken about moving to Sydney to live with his daughter. I also knew his lady friend lived in Gorokan and they were exploring buying a houseboat. I thought the worst had happened to him but wanted confirmation. I had no address or phone number but did have his daughters Skype but she did not answer. I tried locating her on Facebook but noticed there were no entries for this year. I left messages on her Facebook page and on the pages of other relatives who were on her Facebook. That was several months ago and I had all but given up hope of finding George or what might have happened to him. Today we received a message on Donnis Facebook. Daughter Anna C wrote apologising for the delay but confirmed that George had died of a heart attack on 15/12/13.

George and I went through high school together after which we went in different directions and apart from a chance meeting at a surfing spot did not catch up again until about 2008 thanks to the wonders of Skype.

I am sad about the death of George as I am also saddened about the loss of three other friends this year. I guess I am at the age where I should expect more and more old friends will pass on.

Sigh!!!

Saturday 28th November

We stayed cool in the house for most of the day. About 4pm we drove to Broadbeach for a walk.

Lifeguard station.

Lifeguard station.

I love walking on the beach in any weather, day or night, the sound and smell of the ocean, the salt laden air in my lungs

View along the Broadbeach towards The Spit where the salty spray is easy to see.

View along the Broadbeach towards The Spit where the salty spray is easy to see.

and the feel of sand and water under my feet and between my toes. You see all sorts of interesting things, the first of which was the misty haze of the salty air drifting across the beach. The mums and dads with young children splashing in the water, the pair of bikini clad girls posing for each other for their photos.

A couple of young bikini clad girls take turns taking posed photos on the waters edge.

A couple of young bikini clad girls take turns taking posed photos on the waters edge.

The wedding party posing for photos.

A wedding party on a posed stroll.

A wedding party on a posed stroll.

We noted the stretch limo parked in the carpark over the dunes still had the motor running while the driver checked his watch. The tent erected on the beach with a band practising for a beach party.

Double click on this photo and you can see the drums.

Double click on this photo and you can see the drums.

A cyclist on the beach.

It is hard work riding a bicycle on the sand. The hard packed damp sand is reasonably good enough but good gears and chunky mountain bike tyres give good traction.

It is hard work riding a bicycle on the sand. The hard packed damp sand is reasonably good enough but good gears and chunky mountain bike tyres give good traction.

I always feel good after a walk on the ocean beach.

Sunday 29th November

Another hot day although it is cool inside the house.

As seems to be the case lately I fall asleep shortly after breakfast and am in a stupor each day. I have what is called “dry mouth” my tongue seems to lock up when I am talking and it sticks to the roof of my mouth when I fall asleep. Blame it on my medication.

In the afternoon we went for a walk on Broadbeach in overcast conditions. The salt laden haze is much thicker today but do I care?

Nope.

It is great to walk in these conditions.

Tags: , , , ,

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

