473. Sunday 3rd January 2016. All quiet, including a quiet New Years Eve…

Tuesday 29th December

Woke to an overcast cold day.

Cold day! What a joke. We are so used to comfortable temperatures of 28° to 32° every day. Today the temp dropped to a freezing cold of 21°!!! There are places in this world which achieve a maximum high of 16° at the peak of summer. I would not even get in the water at the beach if the water temp was 21°. Oh how spoiled are we?

Wednesday 30th December

This morning I received an email from WordPress.com who are the domicile providers for our travel blog. They supplied an annual report of activity on our blog. I will share some of the statistics with you.

We had 17,000 readers during the year. (2014 there were 15,000readers) This is roughly the equivalent to 6 sold out performances at the Sydney Opera House. For the mathematically inclined, the Opera house has a maximum seating capacity of 2,700. Hmmm! I wonder why with that many readers I do not have more comments. Do I need to post controversial subjects?

Your comments please.

Included in my posts were 995 photos. At least 25% of them are pretty good. (That last is my observation) That’s double the photos from 2014. It could be I am taking better photos with my Lumix FZ200 after I damaged the Lumix FZ50, beyond repair, in February 2014.

Readers came from 118 countries.

The majority of readers came from Australia with the USA and Germany not far behind. Hmmm! I thought Canada would have had a larger representation of readers. Perhaps readers through facebook are not counted or if so, counted as being from the USA.  Hmmm!

I have never had a comment from Germany. Come on Germany. Post a comment even if it is in German. I can have it translated.

Hmmm! For that matter not many comments from USA either! Thanks to US readers who do comment.

For all my readers including those who did not comment, thank you.

Some trips are planned for 2016 so please stay reading…and commenting.

In the afternoon we took a walk along our favourite beach (well at least the favourite within a quick drive of home) and saw our happy Asian people enjoying their first view of the beach and splashing about like little children even in their good clothes.

Happy Asians enjoying the wind at the beach.

Happy Asians enjoying the wind at the beach.

Although it may not look rough in the photo the surf was very rough with a strong undertow,

Although it may not look rough in the photo the surf was very rough with a strong undertow,

We also saw a wedding photographer struggling to take happy snaps in the 30 KPH winds. The poor bride in her strapless gown struggled to keep smiling and had difficulty hiding her shivers in the cool wind.

Lets do our best to get some nice photos. I am so pleased my white shoes matches your billowing white wedding gown.

Lets do our best to get some nice photos. I am so pleased my white shoes matches your billowing white wedding gown.

Oooh hug me tight I am so chilled in this 30 MPH wind.

Oooh hug me tight I am so chilled in this 30 MPH wind.

Almost done. My almost bare legs and feet match your back.

Almost done. My almost bare legs and feet match your body.

Thursday 31st December.

New Years Eve. Thanks goodness it has finally arrived. December seems to be the longest month, despite the fact it has the same numbers of days as 6 other months.

One of the residents here, Graeme, has started building a cupboard, inside the framework of an inner garage wall. Instead of a small inaccessible cupboard in the laundry we now have twice the capacity, in a usable location. It gives us the added advantage of having a nice clean wall in the laundry on which we can install shelving. Being a small villa any extra storage space is handy.

Anyway. We invited Graeme and his wife Wenke and our friend Glenda and her mother DeeDee to have a New Year Dinner with us. Donnis had bought a large boned and stuffed Turkey (Donnis loves Turkey…me, who cares, give me chicken any day) but we needed other people to help us eat it. Donnis spent much of the day preparing dinner  while I helped Graeme or at least stayed out of the way of both of them and helped as and when they called for me to help. Dinner was a huge success with Turkey and the trimmings including gravy, Cranberry Sauce and a Cauliflower whipped to a mashed potato consistency. Donnis also prepared a Pavlova with whipped cream, passionfruit, cherries and blueberries on top for a dessert.

Wenke, Graeme, Frank, Dee Dee and Glenda.

Wenke, Graeme, Frank, Dee Dee and Glenda.

Dinner New Years Eve. Left to right Wenke, Graeme, Donnis, Dee Dee and Glenda.

Dinner New Years Eve. Left to right Wenke, Graeme, Donnis, Dee Dee and Glenda.

After dinner we went to The Broadwater at Labrador to watch the fireworks then drove around Coombabah to look at Christmas lights. Yeah Yeah I know! We are at least a week late for that. We stayed up late enough to watch a delayed telecast (Sydney are on Daylight Savings time while Qld is on Eastern Standard Time) of the NYE fireworks from Sydney on ABC TV. For some reason none of the networks broadcast the fireworks from Brisbane. I was impressed with the aerial view of the harbour from within the fireworks. The video must have been sent from a drone. Naturally I cannot find any mention on the internet of how the TV cameras were placed.

Friday 1st January 2016.

New Years Day.

We slept in!

Saturday 2nd January

The work goes on in the garage.

Sunday 3rd January

At last we have had a chance to take a walk on the beach again. Today was overcast with some big black clouds building in the south. Shortly after arriving home the rain began. We expect the next few days will be rain, rain, rain.

The rain clouds approach over Southport.

The rain clouds approach over Southport.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “473. Sunday 3rd January 2016. All quiet, including a quiet New Years Eve…”

  1. Lara Says:

    Love keeping up with your blog!😀 the photos are awesome

    Like

    • frankeeg Says:

      Hi Lara, thanks for your comment. I appreciate hearing from you. As you know I like to travel. By the same token I love to see whats in my own back yard and what is a bit offbeat or quirky. I also love taking photos, usually just of scenery but lately I have taken more photos of people, mostly those I do not know and I enjoy the results. Thanks for continuing to read.

      Like

  2. placestheygo Says:

    Happy New Year! Hope you are feeling much better this year with your wrist:)

    Like

    • frankeeg Says:

      Hi and Happy New Year to you. The wrist surgery is healed but the damaged nerves is an ongoing problem along with retraining the hand with physiotherapy. Thanks for continuing to read and being the most consistent US reader. I also enjoy reading your blog but do not always comment. I envy your continuing lifestyle and hope you will continue to roam the Big Ole USofA in your impressive motorhome for a long time to come. As you may recall we briefly visited the USA in May last year (2015). I would like to hire a car and do the Route 66 but will have to plan that a year in advance and somehow justify the funds. Boy would my camera get a workout if we can make that happen. Cheers…

      Like

I am looking forward to your comment. Any questions.

